Alex La
Alex La
Title: Associate Head Water Polo Coach
Phone: (909) 607-4487
Previous College: B.A. - La Verne; M.A. - La Verne

Alex La served as the Interim Head Coach for the Pomona-Pitzer Men's Water Polo and Women's Water Polo programs in 2015-16 while Head Coach Alex Rodriguez was on sabbatical to coach the Men's Junior National Team for USA Water Polo. During his tenure he tallied a 13-16 record for the men's team and 14-16 for the women's team. La served as Associate Head Coach with both programs in 2014-15, helping the women's team to a share of the SCIAC title with a 10-1 league mark. 

In the summer of 2016, La traveled with the Men’s National Water Polo team to Rio to compete in the 2016 Olympics.  He was tasked as the Scouting Coach, recording and breaking down film for the Men’s Team.  During his time there, he scouted every water polo game in the Olympics, was able to watch the Gold Medal Women’s Water Polo Game, Gold Medal Table Tennis, Quarterfinals for Beach Volleyball and USA Men’s Basketball.

Currently Alex is active at the club level, serving as Technical Director and Head Coach of 18u Boys for the Foothill Club Water Polo.  His teams have consistently been ranked at the top in the Junior Olympics. With the club, La has traveled, trained and competed all over the world. They have been to Montenegro, Croatia, Hungary and Australia.

In 2014-2016 he also held the Position of Head Zone Coach for the Coastal Zone in USA Water Polo’s Olympic Development Program. He organized camps for three separate age groups which allowed him and his staff to select six teams ranging from different ages to compete in Zone Championships.

La is a 2003 graduate of the University of La Verne. He recieved his bachelor's degree in business administraion and his master's drgree in marketing in 2005 also from La Verne. He competed on the Leopards' water polo team during his final two years of college.

From 2008-2014, La served as head water polo coach at SCIAC rival La Verne, prior to joining the Sagehens in the fall of 2014.